Women’s Swimming and Diving Sweeps Principia, Lindenwood-Belleville

Women’s Swimming and Diving Sweeps Principia, Lindenwood-Belleville


Elsah, Ill. - The Franklin College women's swimming and diving team won a pair of Saturday matches to improve to 9-0 on the season, defeating Principia and Lindenwood-Belleville behind 12 event victories on Saturday.

Sophomores Karlee Demsey (Jeffersonville, Ind./Jeffersonville), Amy McCormick (Floyds Knobs, Ind./Floyd Central) and Kaitlin Mans (Louisville, Ky./DuPont Manual) were all multiple-event winners to lead the Grizzlies. Demsey won the 50-yard freestyle (25.37 seconds) by one-hundredth of a second. She later touched the wall first in the 100-yard backstroke (1:02.34).

Freshman Bri Gunning (Whiteland, Ind./Whiteland Community) won both diving competitions to round out the multiple-event winners. She won the 1-meter diving event with 181.30 points based on the judge's scores. Gunning tallied 161.25 points to win the 3-meter diving competition.

McCormick picked up a dominating victory in the 1,650-yard freestyle (18:18.05). She also won the 100-yard freestyle (55.96 seconds).

McCormick also swam a leg on the victorious 400-yard freestyle relay team (3:50.43). Joining her on the relay were juniors Sarah Taylor (Greenville, Ind./Floyd Central), Payton Thomas (Clinton, Ind./South Vermillion), and Regina Solik (Clayton, Ind./Cascade).

Mans picked up a six-second triumph in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:10.15). She touched the wall in the 200-yard individual medley (2:21.62). She swam a leg on the winning 200-yard medley relay team (1:58.16). Other relay members were senior Shelby Conrad (Crawfordsville, Ind./Crawfordsville), junior Haley Blaich (Indianapolis, Ind./Perry Meridian), and freshman Sami Roberts (Bloomington, Ind./Edgewood).

Junior Lauren McCool (New Albany, Ind./New Albany) won the 500-yard freestyle (5:38.54).

Freshman Mackenzie Dwyer (Longmont, Colo./Skyline) edged Taylor for top honors in the 200-yard freestyle (2:03.78).

Franklin returns to action when it competes in the University of Kentucky Invitational from December 5-6.