Women's Swimming and Diving Improves to 4-0 on Season Following Centre Victory

Women's Swimming and Diving Improves to 4-0 on Season Following Centre Victory


Danville, Ky. - The Franklin College women's swimming and diving team hit the road for the second time this season, defeating Centre College 138-98 on Saturday to improve to 4-0 on the season.

"We have always admired Centre's program, and our swimmers know how to step up their game when it comes time to race. I was particularly impressed with our relay swims and saw some great things tonight," said Andrew Hendricks, Franklin's Head Swimming and Diving Coach. "The team is really taking shape as we look towards Thanksgiving and our important halfway point of the season."

Franklin took a quick lead in the meet by winning the opening relay and following with the top three finishers in the 1,000-yard freestyle. The winning relay team of senior Shelby Conrad (Crawfordsville, Ind./Crawfordsville), junior Regina Solik (Clayton, Ind./Cascade), and sophomores Kaitlin Mans (Louisville, Ky./DuPont Manual) and Karlee Demsey (Jeffersonville, Ind./Jeffersonville) led wire-to-wire to win the event.

Sophomore Amy McCormick (Floyds Knobs, Ind./Floyd Central) then led wire to wire to win the 1,000-yard freestyle just in front of freshman Mackenzie Dwyer (Longmont, Colo./Skyline) and junior Ellen Grogg (Bloomington, Ind./Bloomington South) who finished second and third respectively. McCormick added another win in the 500-yard freestyle to remain undefeated this season, while Dwyer added a victory in the 200-yard backstroke.

The other individual winners on the night were Mans who took the 200-yard breaststroke and junior Lauren McCool (New Albany, Ind./New Albany) in the 200-yard freestyle. The 200-yard freestyle relay team of juniors Sarah Taylor (Greenville, Ind./Floyd Central) and Haley Blaich (Indianapolis, Ind./Perry Meridian), McCool, and McCormick rounded out the night with a five-second triumph.

The Grizzlies return to competition on Friday, November 13, at 6:30 p.m. when they host Transylvania University. Franklin also hosts Millikin University and Coe College in the triangular meet on Saturday, November 14, at 1 p.m.