Swimming and Diving Teams Opening 2015-16 Season with Saturday Home Meet

Swimming and Diving Teams Opening 2015-16 Season with Saturday Home Meet

Franklin, Ind. - The Franklin College men's and women's swimming and diving teams opens the 2015-16 season when they host Illinois College and Illinois Institute of Technology on Saturday, October 24, at 2 p.m. from Franklin Community Middle School.

The men's team earned 21 All-Liberal Arts Championship honor for outstanding performance at the Liberal Arts Championship. The team took first place honors for the second consecutive season.

Junior Artur Schneider (Zurich, Switzerland) became the first swimmer in school history to compete at the NCAA Division III National Championships in 2015. He was named the Liberal Arts Championship Men's Swimmer of the Year for the second straight season. Schneider was also named a Scholar All-American by the College Swimming Coaches of America Association.

Franklin's men's swimming and diving recorded an 11-2 dual meet record last season and placed second at the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) Invitational.

The women's swimming and diving team will rely heavily on a strong returning junior class including: Haley Blaich (Indianapolis, Ind./Perry Meridian), Carly Fernandes (Greenfield, Ind./Greenfield-Central), Ellen Grogg (Bloomington, Ind./Bloomington South), Lauren McCool (New Albany, Ind./New Albany), Laura Olivo (Goshen, Ind./Goshen), Regina Solik (Clayton, Ind./Cascade), Sarah Taylor (Greenville, Ind./Floyd Central), Payton Thomas (Clinton, Ind./South Vermillion), and Taylor Tichenor (Bloomington, Ind./Bloomington North).

The women's team won their second-straight HCAC Invitational and placed second at the Liberal Arts Championship during the 2014-15 season.