Fleet Repeats as HCAC Offensive MVP; Eight Grizzlies Collect All-Conference Honors

Fleet Repeats as HCAC Offensive MVP; Eight Grizzlies Collect All-Conference Honors

GREENWOOD, Ind. – For the third consecutive year, Franklin College's Maddie Fleet has been named the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) Offensive MVP. Fleet was one of eight Franklin players to be named to one of three all-conference teams on Tuesday afternoon.

Fleet and Clare Lenart collected First Team All-HCAC honors. Lexi Short, Taylor McDaniel, Kelsey Brunsman, Olivia Fisher and Hannah McIntosh all earned Second Team All-HCAC honors while Abby Stayer was the team's lone honorable mention selection.

Indianapolis, Ind.-native Fleet was a dynamo on the attack once again in 2017, leading the conference with 25 goals and adding six assists for a league-high 56 points in 18 games. Fleet has scored in each of the Grizzlies' last nine matches. Fleet scored two of the Grizzlies' three goals in the HCAC tournament last week, earning MVP honors and propelling the Grizzlies to their first ever conference championship and NCAA Tournament berth.

Lenart earned her second straight First Team All-HCAC selection after finishing second on the Grizzlies with seven goals and five assists for 19 points. She collected one HCAC Player of the Week honor after scoring five goals in a win over Bluffton earlier this year, and she assisted on the game-winning goal in the HCAC title game.

Short started all 18 games in goal for the Grizzlies, going 14-4 with a 0.84 goals against average and .863 save percentage and six shutouts in just under 1,500 minutes of action. The sophomore goalkeeper picks up her second career all-conference honor, joining her selection to the first team a year ago.

McDaniel added extra punch to the Franklin attack, finishing with five goals and six assists for 16 points for her second consecutive Second Team All-HCAC honor. No goal she scored was bigger than the game-winner in the HCAC title game, her lone game-winner of the year.

McIntosh added three goals and two assists in 17 games while playing in the Franklin midfield. Brunsman has started all 18 games from the Grizzlies as a holding mid, serving up a pair of assists on the year.

Fisher claimed her first all-conference award after a stellar season at center back for the Grizzlies. The junior started all 18 games on the back line and was a key member of a Franklin defense that conceded just 16 goals up to this point.

Rounding things out for the Grizzlies is Stayer, who completed another strong season at outside back. Stayer competed in 17 contests, finishing with one goal and three shot attempts to earn a spot on the honorable mention squad.

Jo List was chosen as the Grizzlies' representative for the HCAC All-Sportsmanship Team for the second year in a row. The senior center back has started all 18 games for the Grizzlies heading into the NCAA Tournament.

Other major award winners included Hanover's Abby Shroyer, who was named Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Earlham's Chloe Lamenzo collected Freshman of the Year honors and Anderson's Jennifer Myhre was named Coach of the Year.

Franklin is set to head east for their first ever NCAA Tournament match, which takes place this Saturday (Nov. 11) at 8:00 p.m. against Arcadia University in Pittsburgh, Pa. on the campus of Carnegie Mellon University.