Franklin College Franklin College Logo

Men’s Track and Field Win Seven Events at Tiger Small College Invitational

Men’s Track and Field Win Seven Events at Tiger Small College Invitational


Greencastle, Ind. - Led by seven event victories, the Franklin College men's indoor track and field team placed a strong second at the Tiger Small College Invitational at DePauw University on Friday evening.

DePauw won the six-team field with 134 points, edging out the Grizzlies for the top spot by 14 points.

Senior Kristopher Sandlin (Scottsburg, Ind./Scottsburg) began his indoor track season with a victory in the 3,000-meter run (9:06.97). He won the race by nearly seven seconds. Junior Blake Albrecht (Washington, Ind./Washington) finished fourth (9:33.20) and sophomore Matt Millard (Carmel, Ind./Ben Davis) also added to the team score with a sixth-place effort (9:46.71).

Senior Leighton Gough (Connersville, Ind./Connersville) finished first in the 800-meter race with a sub two-minute time (1:59.46). He edged sophomore Eric Thompson (McCordsville, Ind./Mt. Vernon) for the top spot in the race.

Sophomore Jesse Page (Bedford, Ind./Bedford North Lawrence) won the 400-meter dash by nearly three seconds (53.97).

Franklin took the top three finishers in the triple jump with junior Patrick Ellis leading the charge with a distance of 13.07 meters. Senior Clay Warner (Franklin, Ind./Franklin Community) and freshman Cody Foster (Martinsville, Ind./Martinsville) finished second and third respectively in the event.

Freshman Taylor Christensen (Fishers, Ind./Hamilton Southeastern) took top honors in the long jump in his collegiate debut (6.54 meters).

Junior Matthew Icenogle (Scottsburg, Ind./Scottsburg) rounded out the individual event winners in the 60-meter hurdles (8.70).

The Grizzlies won the 4-x-200-meter relay, narrowly defeating DePauw by .31-seconds.

Franklin returns to action when it travels back to Greencastle to compete in the DePauw Invitational on Saturday, February 15.