Men’s Tennis Shuts out Central State in Spring Home Opener

Men’s Tennis Shuts out Central State in Spring Home Opener

Franklin, Ind. - The Franklin College men's tennis team picked up its third win of the season, defeating Central State University (Ohio) 9-0 in the spring home opener from the Mickel-Hoover Tennis Complex on Wednesday.

Franklin (3-4) quickly took control of the match with three victories in doubles action. Senior Jared Hunt (New Whiteland, Ind./Whiteland Community) and junior Luke Snyder (Franklin, Ind./Franklin Community) did not drop a game at No. 2 doubles. Sophomore Ryan Simpson (Indianapolis, Ind./Lutheran) and junior Shaughnessy Harrigan (Indianapolis, Ind./Franklin Central) earned an 8-1 victory at the No. 3 position. Junior Ryan Hammer (Greenwood, Ind./Greenwood) and freshman Ethan Caldwell (Terre Haute, Ind./Terre Haute North) rounded out the winners in doubles with an 8-3 triumph on the No. 1 court.

In singles, junior Robby Woehrle (Avon, Ind./Avon) picked up a 6-0, 6-1 win on the No. 5 court. Classmate Evan Pierle (Indianapolis, Ind./Perry Meridian) clinched the victory for Franklin with a straight-set triumph at the No. 4 singles position. Senior Neal Herzog (Milan, Ind./Milan) dropped only one game in earning his second win of the season at No. 6 singles. Hammer did not drop a game from the top spot in the lineup. Caldwell won at the No. 2 singles position by identical 6-2 scores. Snyder rounded out the winners with a 6-3, 6-2 victory at No. 3 singles.

Franklin returns to action on Saturday, April 12 at noon when it hosts Anderson University in Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference action from the Mickel-Hoover Tennis Complex.

Franklin 9, Central State 0


No. 1 Ryan Hammer (FC) def. Ammon Russell (CSU) 6-0, 6-0

No. 2 Ethan Caldwell (FC) def. Bryon Johnson (CSU) 6-2, 6-2

No. 3 Luke Snyder (FC) def. Addison Pettiford (CSU) 6-3, 6-2

No. 4 Evan Pierle (FC) def. T. J. Prioleau (CSU) 6-0, 6-0

No. 5 Robby Woehrle (FC) def. Brandon Gonzalez (CSU) 6-0, 6-2

No. 6 Neal Herzog (FC) def. LeDonte Body (CSU) 6-0, 6-1


No. 1 Caldwell/Hammer (FC) def. Russell/Johnson (CSU) 8-3

No. 2 Jared Hunt/Snyder (FC) def. Pettiford/Gonzalez (CSU) 8-0

No. 3 Shaughnessy Harrigan/Ryan Simpson (FC) def. Body/Prioleau (CSU) 8-1