Kerry Prather
Kerry Prather
Title: Director of Athletics/Head Men's Basketball Coach
Phone: 317-738-8121
Previous College: Indiana '77

Kerry Prather serves as Franklin College’s director of athletics and head men’s basketball coach. He joined the Franklin College staff in 1982 as the assistant basketball coach and was promoted to the head coaching position the following year. In addition to his coaching responsibilities, Prather has held administrative positions as assistant dean of students, associate director of admissions, acting vice president for enrollment management and acting vice president for administration.

Prather holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Indiana University. In 1999, he was named an associate alumnus of Franklin College. Prather was honored as the Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference’s Coach of the Year after guiding the Grizzlies to league championships in 1989 and 1992 and a runner-up finish in 1998. He coached the Grizzlies to an NAIA District 21 championship and No. 3 seed in the NAIA national tournament in Texas in 1991-92. Franklin finished in the Elite Eight that year.

In 1998-99, he guided Franklin to its first (renamed) Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference tournament championship, which earned his team an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championships tournament. Making its second consecutive NCAA tournament appearance, the Grizzlies reached the Sweet 16 in 1999.

In 1999-2000, he guided Franklin to regular season and tournament titles in the Heartland Conference, and the program’s third consecutive NCAA tournament appearance.

In 2001-02, he coached the Grizzlies to their third HCAC tournament title in four seasons and their fourth NCAA tournament berth in five years. Prather guided Franklin to its fourth conference regular season championship in 2006-07. The Grizzlies then won their fourth conference tournament crown, earning its fifth appearance in the NCAA playoffs, in 2007-08 and then captured their fifth regular season title in 2008-09 under Prather.

Franklin was first among all NCAA Division III schools in team three-point field goal percentage in 1997-98 and 1999-2000, tops in overall field goal shooting in 1999-2000 and 2008-09, and first in team free throw accuracy in 2000-01. Prather served on the NCAA men’s basketball committee for the Midwest Region.

Prather has coached seven recipients of the conference Player of the Year award — Mike Gibbs, Scott Roberts, John Holden, Jason Sibley, Paul Buening and Nick Kane, including one repeat selection (Sibley), plus two All-America players (Holden and Sibley), including one repeat honoree (Sibley). Moreover, he has coached Dave Dunkle, who was selected to the GTE/CoSIDA Academic All-America Team and was awarded the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship in 1993-94.

In the Grizzlies' 2018-19 season opener against Otterbein, Prather recorded his 500th career victory, making him the 13th active coach in Division III to surpass that milestone. With 511 total victories, Prather is Franklin’s winningest men’s basketball coach. Prather and his wife Cindy have two children, Katie and Robbie, both Franklin College graduates.


ICAC 1988-89
ICAC 1991-92
HCAC 1999-00
HCAC 2006-07
HCAC 2008-09
HCAC 1998-99
HCAC 1999-00
HCAC 2001-02
HCAC 2007-08
ICAC 1997-98
HCAC 2003-04
HCAC 2004-05
HCAC 2005-06
HCAC 2008-09
NAIA Division II 1991-92
NCAA Division III 1997-98
NCAA Division III 1998-99
NCAA Division III 1999-00
NCAA Division III 2001-02
NCAA Division III 2007-08
ICAC 1988-89
ICAC 1991-92
HCAC 1997-98
3-pt Field Goal Pct 1997-98
3-pt Field Goal Pct 1999-00
Field Goal Pct 1999-00
Free Throw Pct 2000-01
Field Goal Pct 2008-09