Beineke, Morris Collect All-Conference Accolades

John Beineke (left) and Kale Morris (right)
John Beineke (left) and Kale Morris (right)

GREENWOOD, Ind. – Senior John Beineke and sophomore Kale Morris were honored by the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) on Tuesday (Feb. 27) afternoon with their first career all-conference honors.

Indianapolis, Ind.-native Beineke was rewarded with Second Team All-HCAC accolades while Morris earned a spot on the league's honorable mention team. Additionally, sophomore Borden Kennedy was chosen as the team's representative on the HCAC's All-Sportsmanship squad.

The lone senior on the team, Beineke led the Grizzlies with 15.2 points per game and a 57.2 percent field goal percentage. The only member of the Grizzlies to start all 25 games, Beineke finished second on the team with 6.7 rebounds per game, and his 2.1 assists per contest were also second best on the squad.

Additionally, Beineke led the league with 150 free throw attempts and his 3.12 offensive rebounds per game were tops among all HCAC players. He finished his career averaging 11.3 points per game on 55.5 percent shooting while grabbing 5.7 rebounds per contest.

Morris is coming off a year what saw him average 10.5 points per game while appearing in all 25 contests, making 22 starts. The Frankfort, Ind.-native emerged as not only the top long-range threat on the Grizzlies, but one of the top shooters in the entire league. Morris knocked down 42.9 percent of his three-pointers, leading the league with 2.4 triples per game and finishing third overall with 60 made threes.

The Franklin sharp-shooter knocked down a career-high five threes in each of the Grizzlies' two meetings with Transylvania. In their meeting with Pioneers on Feb. 14, Morris knocked down 10 field goals and five threes on his way to a career-high 25 points.

All-HCAC Teams

First Team
Trevor Lucas, Anderson
Cam Fails, Hanover
Wes McKinney, Hanover
Erik Edwards, Mount St. Joseph
Andrew Finley, Mount St. Joseph
Craig McGee, Rose-Hulman 

2nd Team:
Cole Hartman, Anderson
Kevin Christie, Bluffton
John Beineke, Franklin
Adrian Johnson, Manchester
Adam Goetz, Mount St. Joseph
Charlie Aimone, Rose-Hulman 

Honorable Mention:
Andrew Renner, Bluffton
Elijah Wilson-Thomas, Earlham
Kale Morris, Franklin
Nick White, Hanover
Kyle Gullett, Transylvania
Gabe Schmitt, Transylvania
Cooper Theobald, Transylvania

JD Bembry, Anderson
Austin Buchholz, Bluffton
Allante Wheeler, Defiance
Thomas Sanborn, Earlham
Borden Kennedy, Franklin
Parker Buse, Hanover
Brody Kirby, Manchester
Tyler Manaugh, Mount St. Joseph
Stephen Schueth, Rose-Hulman
Tristan Burgess, Transylvania