Football Announces Team Award Recipients at Year-End Team Banquet

Photo courtesy of Chris Shaff
Coach Leonard gets the game ball following the win. Photo courtesy of Chris Shaff

FRANKLIN, Ind. - The Franklin College football team put the finishing touches on another successful campaign on Friday night, handing out the team awards for the 2018 season.

The Grizzlies finished in a three-way tie for the top spot in the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) in 2018, going 8-2 overall with a 7-1 mark in league play. It marked the ninth straight year the Grizzlies finished with at least a share of the conference crown and 14 players were named to one of the league's three all-conference teams at the end of the year.

Senior wide reciever Brad Bonomini was named the Red Faught Team MVP after collecting Third Team All-America honors from both the AP and D3Football. The Lawrenceburg, Ind.-native was also the HCAC Offensive MVP, making it nine straight years a member of the Grizzlies has earned that award. 

Additionally, head coach Mike Leonard was presented with a Distingushed Hoosier Award after being chosen for the honor by Indiana governor Eric Holcomb. One of the highest honors given by the State of Indiana to its citizens, the Distiguished Hoosier Award is bestowed at the discretion of the governor to outstanding residents for their contributions and accomplishment to their communities. 

The entire list of award winners can be found below

Dr. John Woner Mental Attitude Award - Spencer Fox

Keith A. Fielder Defensive Player of the Year - Austin Fleming

Craig Lawson Scholastic Award - Chaz Hill

Defensive Back of the Year - David Masayile

Defensive Lineman of the Year - Bryce Hale

Nick Schultz Offensive Lineman of the Year - Austin Woiteshek

Offensive Back of the Year - Jacob Earl

Special Teams Player of the Year - Ian Seim

Defensive Scout Team Players of the Year - Tanner Swindle, Michael Heading

Offensive Scout Team Players of the Year - Antonio Burks, Colten Pipenger

Freshmen of the Year - Carter Brown, Evan Hosea

Most Improved Player - Alex Frey

Wes Shambaugh Big Heart Award - Logan Hale

Mattitude Team Player Award - Brayton Shannon

Charger Award - Elliott Parmer, Austin Grunden, Emry Himes

Red Faught Team MVP - Brad Bonomini