Football Announces Team Award Winners at Year-End Team Banquet

Football Announces Team Award Winners at Year-End Team Banquet

FRANKLIN, Ind. - The Franklin College football team put the finishing touches on another successful campaign recently, handing out the team awards for the 2017 season.

The Grizzlies won their seventh Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference title in the last eight years, going 8-3 and advancing to the Division III playoffs for the ninth time in the last 11 seasons.

Franklin went a perfect 8-0 in conference play, placing a league-high 16 players on the HCAC all-conference teams in 2017. Topping the list was senior quarterback Chase Burton, who was named HCAC Offensive Player of the Year for the third year in a row. Burton was recently named First Team All-North Region by Franklin head coach Mike Leonard was also named HCAC Coach of the Year for the seventh time in his tenure with the Grizzlies.

Below are the 2017 Franklin football award winners:

Nick Schultz Offensive Lineman of the Year – Sam Burck

Offensive Back of the Year – Jordan Brown

Receiver of the Year – Deontez Alexander

Defensive Lineman of the Year – Zach Turner

Linebacker of the Year – Austin Fleming

Most Improved Offensive Player – Jacob Earl

Most Improved Defensive Player – Tyrone Thomas III

Defensive Player of the Year – Nathan Warman

Special Teams Player of the Year – Stephen Colligan

Offensive Scout Team Players of the Year – Avery Bundy, Austin Grunden, Cole Daab

Defensive Scout Team Players of the Year – Nolan Kelly, Tyler Turner, Alex Frey

Craig Lawson Scholar-Athlete Award – Stephen Colligan

Dr. John Woner Mental Attitude Award – Jordan Brown, Trace Rooks

Wes Shambaugh Big Heart Award – Samm Hayes, Jeremiah McAdams

The CHARGER Award – Brad Bonomini

Matt-itude TEAM Player Award – Logan Hale

HCAC Sportsmanship Award – David Masayile