Franklin College Alumni Rise To Leadership Positions With The Indiana Basketball Hall Of Fame

NEW CASTLE, Ind. (June 23, 2017) – Steve Witty, a 1969 Franklin College graduate and former standout player for the Grizzlies, has been elected to a two-year term as the President of the Board of Directors for the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

A 2012 Hall of Fame inductee, Witty replaces Sam Alford, a 1964 Franklin College graduate and former standout player who recently completed a two-year term as president. Alford is a 2002 Hall of Fame inductee.

A 1965 graduate of Center Grove High School, Witty was a three-year letterwinner at Franklin College. He went on to become one of the most successful boys basketball coaches in IHSAA history. He coached at Ben Davis High School from 1990 to 2002 and led the Giants to state championships in 1995 and '96. He is the only coach in IHSAA history to have led teams to four straight Final Fours during the non-class tournament format.

In addition to Witty's election, Judi Warren, a 1980 Franklin College graduate and a 2002 Hall of Fame inductee, has been elevated from the Hall's Board of Directors to an At-Large position on the Executive Committee.

Indiana's first Miss Basketball and first female Mental Attitude Award winner, Warren was a four-year standout for the Grizzlies after leading Warsaw High School to the 1976 IHSAA girls basketball state championship. She, too, went on to become a successful high school varsity coach, with stints at South Dearborn, Maconaqua and Carmel. She led Carmel to a state runner-up finish in 1995.